We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Another sleeping bag question (ABC)

Arizona
Level Contributor
216 posts
46 reviews
Save Topic
Another sleeping bag question (ABC)

I know many sleeping bag questions have been asked, but I couldn't find much info on liners. We are planning on doing ABC in late March and I've read that it will probably be pretty cold at the higher elevations. I have a 20 degree F bag and I don't think that will be sufficient. Has anyone tried the liners that add 10-25 degrees F to a sleeping bag? I don't want to buy a colder bag that I won't use much, if ever again. I also don't want to rent a bag.

France
Destination Expert
for Nepal, Tibet, Bhutan, Bhaktapur, Kathmandu, Jomsom, Mustang Region, Namche Bazaar, Sagarmatha National Park, Annapurna Region
Level Contributor
3,446 posts
80 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Another sleeping bag question (ABC)

Hello,

Welcome to TripAdvisor forum for Nepal!

It's currently summer season in Nepal welcoming monsoon soon. 20 Degree F is about -6.666 Degree Celsius which looks fine to me. If it's genuine brand them -6 is quite good one. In case you are not confident then you can buy a liner in Kathmandu too, warms ones are also quite cheap. About 15 $ for a warm liner is not bad.

Good Luck!

Espoo
Level Contributor
2,006 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Another sleeping bag question (ABC)

Liners do not add as much warmth as they claim. Getting a fleece liner in Kathmandu costs pennies, though. At the time you are going is not the highest season, you can get blankets in the lodges to supplement your bag. So get a cheap liner, ask for blankets and use your down jacket as a duvet, you will survive just fine.

Asia
Level Contributor
233 posts
30 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Another sleeping bag question (ABC)