We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New-Need to vacate - help

macmim
1 post
Save Topic
New-Need to vacate - help

I am new to anything in Michigan except around the way southern area - New Buffalo. I want to take a single mom, no kids, relaxation get-away. Walk in the trees, shop, solitary beauty and quiet. Maybe one night on the town, love art, love excellent food. I'm thinking Mackinac Island. I'm a southerner originally so I hate cold, but willing to wear a sweater. :) I have no idea where to start. NO Grand Hotel, can't afford it, but am willing to fork over my quarterly bonus for an experience that will leave me renewed and creative! Where do I stay? I'm coming from South Bend, IN - choke. Somebody, please help me!! I'm desperate for some beauty and nature!!!

Mentioned in this post
Michigan
Michigan
United States
New Buffalo
New Buffalo
Berrien County, MI
Mackinac Island
Mackinac Island
Mackinac County, MI
Kansas
Destination Expert
for Mackinac Island, Mackinaw City, Kansas
Level Contributor
4,993 posts
263 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: New-Need to vacate - help

I will let others suggest the hotel, I wish to suggest when to go: about the third week in June.

You can find some hotel specials, and the crowds will be much smaller than later, more what you are looking for. The weather can go either way, but you are bringing warm clothes. The woods will still have some spring wild flowers such as trilliums or lady slippers.

If you are going later in the summer when it will probably be warmer, I think you would have mote of the experience you are looking for if you stay in Carp Lake, about 5 miles south of Mackinaw City. It will be much more peaceful and serve as a base for visiting the Island, parks and other communities.

Mentioned in this post
Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City
Cheboygan County, MI