We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Downtown Portland?

Enfield, CT
Level Contributor
39 posts
Save Topic
Downtown Portland?

Hi!

I'll be staying in the Wells/Ogunquit area the week of July 29th. My family and I have been vacationing in Maine for 15+ years and usually by-pass Portland to shop in Freeport. I've heard that there is a great (downtown?) area of Portland that has cobblestone streets and excellent shopping and restaurants. Where is this located? I tried finding information on it at portlandmaine.com, but am not familiar with the area. Is it worth visiting? The only time we stopped in this general area was to shop at the giant Christmas Tree Shops store in South Portland.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

APURK

Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
2,492 posts
38 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Downtown Portland?

You're describing the Old Port section of downtown Portland. If you have a map, look for Exchange, Fore, and Commercial Streets. That general are is the Old Port.

You will find cobblestone streets and restored brick buildings with stunning architecture. It's a cool and hip place to shop, full of funky boutiques, bars, restaurants, book shops, fine crafts. Nothing like the Christmas Tree Shoppe and not really any discount/outlet stores like Freeport.

It's probably the #1 draw for most tourists in Portland, so I'd advise you to go there.

Bar Harbor, Maine
Destination Expert
for Bar Harbor, Acadia National Park
Level Contributor
3,871 posts
13 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Downtown Portland?