We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Early morning traffic leaving downtown

G31
Minden, Germany
Level Contributor
981 posts
16 reviews
Save Topic
Early morning traffic leaving downtown

Hi. I will be in Chicago for a few days in August before starting a 4 weeks roadtrip. I am planning on picking up a car early after staying at the Inn of Chicago for three nights and then driving towards Yellowstone, stopping at Sioux Falls for the night. As this will be a long drive, we want to set off early, about 7 or 8. What's traffic leaving downtown going to be like, will I encounter any issues? I am an experienced driver (managed to survive LA traffic ...) and we will have a navigational system. Any advice? (I haven't booked the car yet but it is probably going to be Hertz from one of their downtown locations.)

Illinois
Destination Expert
for Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47,728 posts
67 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Early morning traffic leaving downtown

You will encounter traffic on I-90 west out of downtown. It will open up after you pass O'hare. There is construction on 90 on and off all the way out to Rockford. illinoistollway.com/documents/10157/73334aed…

Make sure you rent a car with an I-pass to pay for tolls along the way.

www.illinoistollway.com/tolls-and-i-pass

Chicago, Illinois
Destination Expert
for Train Travel
Level Contributor
15,823 posts
113 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Early morning traffic leaving downtown

That's a long 900 mile drive. Why don't you start after 9:30 and stop sooner. Sioux Falls is a 10 hour drive, not including stop offs. There are two routes: hwy 80 through Iowa (Des Moines) and north on 29 after Omaha Nebraska, and 90 to, say, Rochester MInnesota and on to Sioux Falls.