We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driving in snow

Which Chicago hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
56 posts
8 reviews
Save Topic
Driving in snow

I'm going to be driving from St Louis to Chicago on I-55 this weekend and the forecast is calling for snow. I am not experienced with driving in snow and I'm a bit nervous about it. I am renting an SUV with 4 wheel drive so I know that will help but I am wondering if it is safe to be driving in these types of conditions? I'm sure thousands of people drive in these types of conditions daily.

I'm considering the Amtrak as an alternative but have heard it is often delayed.

Chicago
Level Contributor
7,703 posts
64 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Driving in snow

if you drive, go slow. Go at your own pace.

Chicago's North...
Destination Expert
for Illinois, Chicago
Level Contributor
6,656 posts
267 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Driving in snow

listen to the weather and traffic reports on AM 780 and FM105.9.... you should be able to pick up the AM signal half way up to chicago...

4WD will help, BUT DON'T GET OVER CONFIDENT, IT WILL GET YOU IN TROUBLE!!!!!! even if it's a tiny layer of snow, that's all it takes to lose traction....

keep an eye on the weather, and if possible, make the drive during the day.... also, if it indeed snows along your route, make sure your tank is at least half full at all times, just in case.... in good weather, it's only about 5 hours, but in bad weather, it can be an all day affair.....

weather sites to monitor before your trip:

…wunderground.com/cgi-bin/…

intellicast.com/National/Radar/Current.aspx

Illinois
Destination Expert
for Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
45,992 posts
67 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Driving in snow