We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hikes Near Chicago

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
355 posts
Hikes Near Chicago

Greetings!

I'm actually a Chicago resident, but have a question for the experts here. I have Wednesday off work, and the weather rates to be great. I love camping and hiking out west, but am looking to take more advantage of our home turf.

Wondering what some folks favorite hikes are. It's been a while since I've been to Starved Rock and Mathiessen State Parks, but they're definitely on my radar. I think for Wednesday I'm going to target Northwest Indiana or Michiana. The area is so expansive though, I'm not sure where to point myself. Wondering if anyone has favorite hikes, beach or forested, that would rate from moderate to challenging.

Basically hoping to depart once traffic starts to die down (relatively speaking), hike/explore/relax all late morning and afternoon, and maybe wait out rush hour over a pint somewhere.

Also, a bit more of a long shot, but forecast dependent I may actually opt to camp. So if anyone has a favorite site/loop at any location, I'm all ears! It looks like Indiana Dunes N.P. has a fair amount of first-come-first-serve sites. I'm usually one for dispersed camping, but that may be a tougher pull locally vs. some of the larger national forests out west.

Any thoughts or rec's are greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Mike

7 replies to this topic
Level Contributor
4,209 posts
43 reviews
62 helpful votes
1. Re: Hikes Near Chicago

Since you live here you know since it has been so soggy lately I would imagine most paths are pretty muddy. Looks like it is going to rain again on Tuesday. Low on Wed is 60 still pretty chilly & wet for any camping. Hope you find something fun to do.

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
355 posts
2. Re: Hikes Near Chicago