We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Airport area hotels safe? Ybor?

Memphis
Level Contributor
3,572 posts
78 reviews
Save Topic
Airport area hotels safe? Ybor?

Planning a trip to Tampa for the Outback Bowl. I know the Ybor area is the hot spot, but hotels are basically booked up for the New Year's weekend. Are there any good hotels, moderately priced, near Ybor (downtown?) that are safe?

How about the airport area? I noticed the stadium is right by the airport, which would make it very convenient to fly in, get to the hotel, and then the game. Is that area safe? Is that close to the Ybor area?

Basically I have no prior knowledge about Tampa, just trying to find out the safe areas and the distance between everything.

Thanks!

York, PA
Level Contributor
788 posts
27 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Airport area hotels safe? Ybor?

You might want to check out the Courtyard by Marriott in downtown Tampa. I believe it is only about a mile from the hotel Ybor City. There is also a Hilton Garden Inn in that same area that I would recommend (if there are any rooms left). Either one would be a good choice.

If you don't have any luck finding a room in that area, I would suggest trying the Holiday Inn Express on North Rocky Point Dr, which is two miles from the airport. It is a very nice hotel that I am sure that you would enjoy staying at. Best of all, the hotel offers a free continental breakfast each morning, most likely with the delicious cinnamon rolls that a lot of HIE's serve and are well known for. FYI-the hotel is located 4.25 miles from the stadium.

York, PA
Level Contributor
788 posts
27 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Airport area hotels safe? Ybor?

I just wanted to mention that I intended to say that Ybor City is located about a mile away from the Courtyard by Marriott.

Tampa, Florida