We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Urgent advice needed

UK - Bournemouth
Level Contributor
58 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Urgent advice needed

We have a holiday booked for April to Orlando but unfortunately my usually well behaved 18 year old son and his friends got arrested last night. If, and i hope it is only 'if', they are charged with assault and not just cautioned, how will this affect him travelling?

Any advice appreciated so i am prepared.

Thanks

Mentioned in this post
Orlando
Orlando
Central Florida, FL
North West England
Level Contributor
96 posts
1 review
Save Reply
1. Re: Urgent advice needed

Hi,

I'm not an expert on this and hopefully someone else will help fill you in on this one but, as far as i know of the process you might be in real trouble :-(

even if he isnt charged just the fact that he has been arrested is going to mean he is required to obtain a visa for travelling to the US.... and with you going next month i doubt there is any way you will be able to get one in time (there was a poster last week who is having to fly to Belfast in order to get one quicker as the London office has something like a 2 month wait just to get an appointment!

the place to get in touch with is the American Embassy in London, you can call them on 09055 444546 (this is charged at £1.30 per min!)

their website is www.usembassy.org.uk but in order to get the correct info right away you would be better to call ....

wish i could give you better news :-(

Lara

Mentioned in this post
London
London
Ontario, Canada
Shropshire UK
Level Contributor
657 posts
96 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Urgent advice needed

Good Advice Lara,