We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

How much are you tipping your taxi driver?

STL
Level Contributor
264 posts
7 reviews
Save Topic
How much are you tipping your taxi driver?

We pay $75 each way to North Captiva (which I believe is the same to Captiva).

How much are you tipping? I want to make sure we're tipping properly.

I think the standard is 10-15% but $7.50-$11.25 seems kind of low for what amounts to a 45 minute trip. We never take taxis so I have very little experience with them.

Thanks for everyone's opinions.

Captiva Island...
Level Contributor
5,259 posts
28 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: How much are you tipping your taxi driver?

When we took a taxi to Captiva Village from RSW, it was $75 for up to three people, $10 per each extra person. For our family of 5, it was $95. We gave him a $25 tip, which was basically 25 percent. I might have tipped more if he had helped more with the bags, but he didn't. I think 25 percent made everyone happy, it was a long ride, very late at night, and the driver was very kind to my exhausted kids!

STL
Level Contributor
264 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: How much are you tipping your taxi driver?

I gave the driver a $20 last trip since we had a lot of luggage and he really did most everything. I have a hard time sitting back and letting someone else take care of me in those type of situations so I always pitch in as much as they'll let me. I had a conversation with a friend and he said that was probably too much but tipping the "standard amount" didn't really seem appropriate in this situation. I did tip less on the way back because of some complications with the driver that I outlined in my trip report last year.

I appreciate your advice Bean! Tipping is always awkward for me in situations where I don't know what the standard amount is.