We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Snorkeling in the Keys - where to avoid

Which Key West hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 posts
183 reviews
Save Topic
Snorkeling in the Keys - where to avoid

I have been searchng around looking for where to go for a snorkeling adventure while in the Keys. I read thru all of the postings here. I then went external and found this (below) which I think might be helpful to members of this forum, especially since one of the charter groups have been highly recommended in postings here. I have never been to Key West before, so I have no first hand knowledge of these incidents:

"Note: because of the risks involved in recreational diving, we are very cautious about who we recommend and represent. Unexpected medical emergencies can occur in even the best conditions. We work only with businesses that are well-trained and well-experienced and can handle any problem efficiently and expertly. Further, sometimes crews just miss the boat on the basics. These are the businesses we choose not to work with at all. Two examples are Strike Zone Charters in the Lower Keys and Kelly's Aquanuts in the Upper Keys. Both organizations were reported by the Florida Keys Keynoter as having left divers behind last year. In the Strikezone case, the divers were able to swim to another boat. In the Kelly's case, however, there were no other boats in the area. The divers were able to swim to a marker and climb out of the water. They stayed there through the night and well into the next day, when they were finally spotted by a passing sailor and rescued by the Marine Patrol. "

http://www.keywest-reservations.com/DIVE.HTM

Charlotte, North...
Destination Expert
for North Carolina
Level Contributor
2,931 posts
31 reviews
Save Reply