We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Help- need opinions- Fort Myers or Cape Coral area question

Which Fort Myers hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
new york
1 post
1 review
Save Topic
Help- need opinions- Fort Myers or Cape Coral area question

Hello-my husband and I are planning on moving in the next year to the area of fort myers- we are from long island and with skyrocketing prices here want to get the heck out of here!

Can you tell me which is better to live in inregards to safety, surrounding area, etc- Cape Coral or Fort Myers.........

Also I am a nurse and he is a computer tech- is employment ok in this area of Florida? We do not need to worry about schools since our kids are now all in college........any advice would be welcome!

Fort Myers, FL
Level Contributor
353 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Help- need opinions- Fort Myers or Cape Coral area question

Lee County is the number one foreclosure area in the country so you will have plenty of homes to choose from at reasonable prices- unlike a few years ago. Jobs are not as abundant as they once were but I don't think you will have any problem at all finding a nursing position. (I don't know anything about your husband's area of employment.)

Personally, I am not a fan of Cape Coral. (I'm sure some will disagree.) Although there are nice areas on the Cape, there seems to be more crime there, plus you will need to pay a toll every time you cross the bridge into Ft Myers. Conversely, if you want a canalfront home and have a boat, Cape Coral would offer you the best option. Homes in the cape are more affordable, too.