We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

questions re: moving to Santa Barbara & traffic

Santa Barbara...
Level Contributor
18 posts
Save Topic
questions re: moving to Santa Barbara & traffic

Hi, I'm moving to the Santa Barbara area this summer and need some help! I'll be working in SB, and my fiance will be going to school at UCSB. We have a dog and need to find a pet friendly rental, these seem hard to come by in Santa Barbara, or with a reasonable commute (45 min. or less?). How long is the commute from Ventura, and also from Santa Ynez or Buellton? Also, I am a nurse, working nights, so I will be driving out of SB in the morning- will I be against the flow of traffic for either of these locations? And how bad would it be for my fiance, going into Goleta?

Thanks in advance for ANY help you could give me on this topic! It's very difficult to pick a place to live knowing nothing about the practical issues of the area!

Santa Barbara...
Level Contributor
1,890 posts
1 review
Save Reply
1. Re: questions re: moving to Santa Barbara & traffic

I live in downtown Santa Barbara and my job is only 4 miles away at the County Complex near Turnpike Rd, so I don't have much of a commute problem. But I will tell you that for me there is a minor jam up at 7:50 AM between Las Positas Rd and La Cumbre Rd. I think it is because of the traffic that enters the road in this section, and the somewhat blind curves.

My fiancée is a nurse at Goleta Valley Hospital (a branch of Cottage Hospital), and we just moved with our cat.

I have some experience for you, but I want to go out and play now, so I'll revisit this post later.

Santa Barbara...
Level Contributor
18 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: questions re: moving to Santa Barbara & traffic

Thanks, any further information you could give would be great!

Santa Barbara...