We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hearst Castle Day Tour or Night Tour

Which San Simeon hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
West Midlands...
Level Contributor
8 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Hearst Castle Day Tour or Night Tour

We are interested in taking a tour of Hearst Castle on a Friday in October. As this will probably be our one and only opportunity of visiting the castle, would the No.1 day tour be a good one to take or would anyone recommend the Friday evening tour which looks as if it could be quite interesting?

Cambria, California
Destination Expert
for San Simeon, Cambria
Level Contributor
441 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Hearst Castle Day Tour or Night Tour

I work as a guide and suggest you take the evening tour.

First, it's longer. With the new tour format, day tours are 40 minutes with the guide, and however long you'd like after that, but grounds/pools only. Evening tours are an hour and 20 minutes guided and go to all the rooms included on the "Grand Rooms" tour plus most of the rooms shown on the "Upstairs" Tour, as well as a guest house and the kitchen which are part of the "Cottages and Kitchen" tour. In other words, you get most of the rooms that you'd have to buy all 3 of the day tours to see. Both pools also included.

Second, the place looks totally different at night.

Third, Living History docents are there. These are people who live in the area and volunteer and dress up in vintage 1930's clothes. They're on the grounds and in the rooms, playing piano, playing poker and billiards. They bring the place to life.

Michigan
Destination Expert
for Alaska
Level Contributor
3,026 posts
202 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Hearst Castle Day Tour or Night Tour