We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

What to pack!

uk
Level Contributor
30 posts
Save Topic
What to pack!

It's my first time to the US from the UK and flying to San Fran a week on the 28th of march, staying for 4 nights then to Vegas for 3 nights and then to LA for 7 nights staying in Santa Monica! My husband and i are wanting to do all the tourist things as well as a few nights out and some nice meals. The weather seems quite mixed. What sorts of things do people wear on a evening and will the weather be hot enough to go to the different beaches? What is the weather normally like in April?

Silly questions I know!

Mentioned in this post
San Francisco
San Francisco
California
Santa Monica
Santa Monica
California
Thousand Oaks...
Destination Expert
for Israel
Level Contributor
13,329 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: What to pack!

Just a comment on your itinerary....

I would fly to SF, as scheduled. From here drive down the beautiful California coast along Highway 1. Stop for a night in Cambria.

Do the LA portion next then dump the car in LA, fly to Vegas, fly back, and then home via LAX

Another popular thing is to drive to Las Vegas and back....about 4-5 hours each way.

Weather at that time can range from 70's to 50's along the coast or in SF. Best thing is to dress in layers.

Unless you are going to some fancy restaurants or shows there is no need for really awesome clothes. For the most part, CA is pretty casual. You will see folks in restaurants wearing work out clothes, shorts, t-shirts, and.... my unfavorite of all......pajamas.

Dr. Z

Mentioned in this post
West Hollywood...
Destination Expert
for Los Angeles
Level Contributor
32,495 posts
64 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: What to pack!