We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tennis shoes or Skeches GoRun runners

Which Petra - Wadi Musa hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Vancouver
Level Contributor
46 posts
748 reviews
Save Topic
Tennis shoes or Skeches GoRun runners

We are visiting Petra and Wadi Rum in May. I want to know if my tennis shoes (Keds) would be Ok or should I buy lightweight mesh type running shoes like Skeches GoRun or a lightweight mesh Nike product? I want my feet to be comfortable, not hot and sweaty. I don't own a pair of Skeches/Nike type runners yet so I have no experience with how my feet will feel in them. I am considering buying a pair as I am unsure if the tennis shoes will have enough cushioning from the desert heat. I am in my late 60's on a tour with others to Petra and the Wadi Rum on the same day so I expect there won't be that much time to climb or explore different areas in Petra. So tennis shoes or a leightweight mesh type runner like Skecher.Nike? Thanks for your reply.

Fontainebleau
Destination Expert
for Petra - Wadi Musa
Level Contributor
2,885 posts
1 review
Save Reply
1. Re: Tennis shoes or Skeches GoRun runners

I doubt very much indeed if tennis shoes will stand up to walking in Petra, It sounds as if you are only planning on a jeep tour in Wadi Rum, so that should be OK, but be prepared to discard the shoes completely after visiting Peetra.

If you do end up buying something, then buy trekking sandals, they are open to the air, but have sturdy soles. Be sure to have the toes covered against sand and grit.

Vancouver
Level Contributor
46 posts
748 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Tennis shoes or Skeches GoRun runners

Thanks for your reply.

Could you tell me please why you didn't comment on Nike type runners as a possible choice for the Petra and Wadi Rum excursions?