We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wildlife Spotting Scope

Which Dominical hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Duluth, GA
Level Contributor
31 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Wildlife Spotting Scope

I was thinking of purchasing a spotting scope for our upcoming trip to Costa Rica. I was wondering how powerful of one I would need for basic bird and animal watching. I was thinking of picking up one from ebay, but they range in price from $70 to $5,000.00. I don’t want to waste my time with a toy, but I am no professional either. I would also like to get one that would allow me to connect a digital camera or iphone.

Bermuda
Destination Expert
for Bermuda
Level Contributor
3,217 posts
28 reviews
Save Reply
11. Re: Wildlife Spotting Scope

Xelas you and I have a few things in common! I also use Nikon with the nikkor 70-300 vr. When I don't have a tripod, I shoot at least 5 pics, minutely adjusting focus on each shot and usually one comes out really good. I only use manual focus, especially necessary when shooting in the jungle. Obviously you can't beat the consistency of a tripod, but it is possible to get a comparable shot.

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
633 posts
133 reviews
Save Reply
12. Re: Wildlife Spotting Scope

I find the binoculars much easier than my big Canon 50D with a 300MM on it, thats is a lot of camera and weight too, I guess if you are huge photo buff and dont mind the effort yes, but man, its huge stuff.

I am going to sell it, I want a smaller body and HD video, not sure yet, maybe the Rebel.

REI has nice simple to use waterproof binoculars...

rei.com/product/…

Slovenia
Destination Expert
for Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12,635 posts
58 reviews
Save Reply
13. Re: Wildlife Spotting Scope