We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wildlife Spotting Scope

Which Dominical hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Duluth, GA
Level Contributor
31 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Wildlife Spotting Scope

I was thinking of purchasing a spotting scope for our upcoming trip to Costa Rica. I was wondering how powerful of one I would need for basic bird and animal watching. I was thinking of picking up one from ebay, but they range in price from $70 to $5,000.00. I don’t want to waste my time with a toy, but I am no professional either. I would also like to get one that would allow me to connect a digital camera or iphone.

Slovenia
Destination Expert
for Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12,093 posts
59 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Wildlife Spotting Scope

For just spotting the wildlife binoculars are much better option. It is true that you will be able to make nice photos with a P&S camera through a scope ... but first you will need to find that elusive bird or sloth or monkey. For this you will need a guide, and every respectful guide will have her/his own telescope, and you will be able to use it for taking photos (or better, ask a guide to do it).

If deciding to get one (telescope) then be aware that even the most professional tend to get foggy due to high humidity levels. Amateur ones will not last long into your journey.

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
633 posts
134 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Wildlife Spotting Scope

I agree with Xelas. I have two sets of Binoculars, a small one for around my neck, when in transit, and a good powerful pair for observing (Heavy too in comparison)...they were most handy in Tortuguero, Cano Negro, Selva Verde, and the OSA Corcovado areas.

Costa Rica
Level Contributor
25,656 posts
26 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Wildlife Spotting Scope