We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Walking around Buenos Aires with a DSLR photo camera?

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
54 posts
17 reviews
Save Topic
Walking around Buenos Aires with a DSLR photo camera?

I and my wife will be visiting Buenos Aires as a part of our South America trip. Since I am a keen amateur photographer taking photos will be very important aspect of our trip.

I just wonder how safe it would be to take photos with a fairly big DSLR camera with 15 centimeters long lens around the city during a daytime and perhaps around and a bit after sunset.

I am not afraid too much from common pickpockets, but concerned more about mugging under a knife or a gun point. The camera would be kept in a regular backpack, but still I would need to take it out while shooting photos.

In case this is not a good idea I can think of two possible options to reduce the chances of getting mugged:

1. Take the double decked hop-on hop-off tourist bus and shoot from the top deck without getting off the bus at all.

2. Hire a private guide for tours around BA, I would assume that it will be safer to take photos with a DSLR with a local guide.

We will be staying right in the center of the city on 9 de Julio Avenue, opposite the obelisk.

Thank you in advance for your opinions, any thoughts and ideas would be greatly appreciated!

San Clemente...
Destination Expert
for Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
11,549 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Walking around Buenos Aires with a DSLR photo camera?

You wouldn't have a problem shooting photos from the bus. I would be cautious with the camera in a backpack and walking in some areas of the city which you are not familiar with.

I use a small digital camera so it doesn't create a lot of interest since most people have the small cameras.