We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Changing money in Buenos Aires

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
96 posts
14 reviews
Save Topic
Changing money in Buenos Aires

I've read so much about money exchange Cuevos, xoom ect and I,m confused. I am traveling from UK to Rio and onto BA. I prefer to change cash rather than use atm because of the better rates. I am staying on Ave de Mayo, so where can I go to get a deal on my GB Pound ?

Cheers

Buenos Aires...
Level Contributor
2,281 posts
96 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Changing money in Buenos Aires

Since you seem not to be based in the US, Xoom is apparently not an option for you, most here say that unless you have a US base you cannot use them. Im no Xoon expert so perhaps you should still look into the details.

You mention Sterling... I would suggest you try to get Ben Franklins before you leave home. Not that your Pounds will not be accepted, but your effective exchange rate will be lower. If you are able to get USD's at a competitive rate in London (?) or wherever, then you are best equipped with that to place your trades.

Please read up on the various threads for more information.

Have a great trip.

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
96 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Changing money in Buenos Aires

Thanks buddy.

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
96 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Changing money in Buenos Aires

Listen !!!! Take dollars... take them to Ave Florida. One hundred USA is $ 7.8 Pesos as of 20 th Feb-2013 or, get fleeced by your bank and ATM !!!! .

100% safe there. Dont be a fool, live here on the cheep and bring Dollars to change you mugs !!!!!

Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
1,108 posts
56 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Changing money in Buenos Aires