We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Another accomodation question

Finland
Level Contributor
273 posts
5 reviews
Save Topic
Another accomodation question

I'm planning a trip to Cape Town in July. Yes, I know the weather can be bad but I don't mind that. I'm not a fan of the warm weather...

I'm going to be there for about 9-10 days and doing a lot of tours. I'm not going to rent a car because my previous expreriences tell me I'm a really bad driver in the "wrong" side of the road. Basically this means I'll be using the services of local day tour operators quite a lot. What would be the best area in Cape Town for me to get my accomodation? I guess the Centre can't be that bad but do I gain security wise something by choosing another area?

Baz Bus - Day Tours
Sightseeing Tours, Hop-On Hop-Off Tours, Nature & Wildlife Tours, Bus Tours
City Sightseeing
City Tours, Hop-On Hop-Off Tours, Walking Tours, Sightseeing Tours, Day Trips
Cape Convoy
Shark Diving, Historical & Heritage Tours, Sightseeing Tours, Nature & Wildlife Tours, Wine Tours & Tastings
Lucky and Lost Tours
Nature & Wildlife Tours, Wine Tours & Tastings , Sightseeing Tours, Private Tours, Day Trips
Cape Town
Level Contributor
1,172 posts
52 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Another accomodation question

In my opinion your safest and most accessible bet would be near the Waterfront. Its the central tourist area so will be easy to get transport. It also means you will be in walking distance of food and enterainment and wont always have to worry about a taxi.

However 9-10 days is quite long to stay in just that one place, so you might consider breaking it up and spending a few nights on the Peninsula like Kalk Bay or Simon's town, and a night or two in the winelands.

Port Elizabeth
Destination Expert
for South Africa
Level Contributor