We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Help, please! Newbie visiting Kruger in December!

1 post
Save Topic
Help, please! Newbie visiting Kruger in December!

Hello!

My friend and I are both 23 yr old males who are visiting South Africa for the first time in December 2018. We land into Johannesburg and are spending a few days there before we head to what we see as our main reason for going to South Africa, a 4 night, 5 day trip in the safari.

Now, both my friend another I have zero knowledge of how Kruger works and it feels like the more we read the further we get from understanding how things work there. I've read that there are places where everything from pickup to meals to rides are catered and there are people who pitch tents and drive themselves.

We would say that we are right in between where we don't necessarily have to have everything catered for us but we would appreciate a decent lodging to stay at. We also don't know anything about camping but from what I see it, cooking for yourselves is definitely doable. We are comfortable with self driving but of course we are worried that we would get lost or worse, end up driving into an animal. All we have is our excitement to drive and see animals and have a different experience.

Can anyone provide any tips or tricks on how to even get started on how to figure this out? Our budget is roughly up to $1000 each but would rather not spend too too much.

Thanks in advance!

9 replies to this topic
Pretoria, South...
Level Contributor
3,031 posts
28 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Help, please! Newbie visiting Kruger in December!

Start here: https://www.tripadvisor.co.za/ShowTopic-g293…

https://www.tripadvisor.co.za/ShowTopic-g293…

Singapore
Level Contributor
2,532 posts
70 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Help, please! Newbie visiting Kruger in December!