We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Safety in Durban??

Which Durban hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Cambridge, MA
1 post
Save Topic
Safety in Durban??

Hi,

I am a college student travelling to Durban this summer for an internship. I'm hoping someone here can give me insider advice about safety in the city, because all of the other websites I've checked gloss over this topic. Is it safe in most areas for a young female to walk alone during the day?

Thanks!

Elizabeth

durban
Level Contributor
71 posts
1 review
Save Reply
1. Re: Safety in Durban??

Hi no some areas I would not walk alone as a female.

The best is to find out where you are staying and the people will give you advise on the serounding areas.

Like all big Cit there is dangerous areas and you should always be aware of your safety and dont take for granted you are safe just because you are walking in a good area.

Its an amazing City and you can have a good time.Give me the area jou are going to live in and I can give you more info.

Cape Town
Level Contributor
1,171 posts
52 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Safety in Durban??

I agree, it really depends on the area you are in. Some places are fine - especially the ones with lots of people around. But dont walk anywhere at night, or anywhere where there arent people around.

To avoid being a victim I suggest not dispalying too much jewelry, your cell phone, ipod or camera. These are things that can be eaily stolen and resold.

Always be aware of who is around you, especially at vunerable times like when you are drawing money at a bank machine.