We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

how safe is renting a car as a tourist

Level Contributor
180 posts
10 reviews
Save Topic
how safe is renting a car as a tourist

I am being bombarded with negative opinions about my preference to hire a car and drive myself.

To clarify, we expect to stay at a hotel in Sandton and have plans to visit Lion and Rhino Park, Lesedi Cultural Park, Bush Babies Sanctuary and Maropeng.

I am a white male, with a wife and two kids. I'm a Police officer, a trained response driver and have driven in Thailand, Malaysia and the US.

Not only can I use a GPS, but I can read a map!

I've never been keen on using a tour company to provide transport, I don't mind taxi's but the freedom of driving yourself always seems a relief.

Am I being wholly reckless in thinking about driving my family around this city?

Phillipians 4 Four
City Tours, Cultural Tours, Private Tours, Sightseeing Tours, Nature & Wildlife Tours
MoAfrika Tours
Sightseeing Tours, Nature & Wildlife Tours, Safaris, Multi-day Tours
Cape Town
Level Contributor
10,235 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: how safe is renting a car as a tourist

Interested to know who is bombarding you with negative opinions about renting a car and driving. It is certainly not travellers on TA who have actually done it. Do a search in the forum and order by date to get current opinions. You will find that driving to all the places you list is just like driving around any US city - lots of freeways. With the big advantage to you that we drive on the left and road signs are basically the same as the UK. As in US cities there are areas, as a visitor, you wouldn't go. But these are areas you wouldn't go to anyway!