We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Port Elizabeth City highlights & best area to stay

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
108 posts
45 reviews
Save Topic
Port Elizabeth City highlights & best area to stay

We will have a full day (perhaps 2 days- if our arrival date can be moved up, don't know yet) in PE prior to going on safari in Hlosi. I know it's not a lot of time, but would like to make the best of it and see the highlights. Suggestions?

We are very active walkers and I am a former pro-photographer, so scenic things would be great. for pictures.

We arrive at 21:30 the night prior from a long trip from Chicago, so are planning to take a shuttle or taxi to a hotel and and looking for ideas on where to stay where we could walk to things-if possible.

Would prefer to keep the hotel costs around $100-$130 US-if we could...

Thanks-

Cape Town
Destination Expert
for Cape Town
Level Contributor
2,689 posts
101 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Port Elizabeth City highlights & best area to stay

Hi,

The City Lodge Chain has hotels ideally located next to the Board Walk which is where most of the activity is and where it is safe.

Should you be staying over a weekend (Friday, Saturday, Sunday) then you can get half price rates on their Bid2Stay "specials". Courtyard is the best, then City Lodge, Town Lodge and Road Lodge in that order.

London, United...
Level Contributor
409 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Port Elizabeth City highlights & best area to stay

This is a great website to look up things to do and see in the PE area.

nmbt.co.za/attractions_port_elizabeth.html

Hope it helps! :)

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
108 posts
45 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Port Elizabeth City highlights & best area to stay

Thanks for the tips...I will check things out

Port Elizabeth...
Level Contributor