We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

I want to learn Tahitian

jaimelestrains
Level Contributor
21 posts
Save Topic
I want to learn Tahitian

Hi

I'm a French teacher, and I, of course, speak French fluently. However, I would LOVE to take a lesson in Tahitian.

Can anyone pass along the name of a program for a day (or two), price, etc?

I'm leaving tomorrow!

santa barbara,CA
Destination Expert
for French Polynesia, Cook Islands, Tahiti
Level Contributor
8,501 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: I want to learn Tahitian

Shouldn't be too hard as there are only 8 consonants (f, h, m, n, p, r, t, v) and 5 vowels (a, e, i, o, u). not counting the lengthened vowels, diphthongs and the glottal stop of course, lest I be corrected :) Now if you can just learn lickty split how to pronounce everything.........................

LOL! Sorry I couldn't resist.

Have a great trip!

sunny regards,

shully

Mesa, Arizona
Destination Expert
for French Polynesia
Level Contributor
3,918 posts
25 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: I want to learn Tahitian

There is an online Tahitian-English dictionary at www.freelang.net/dictionary/tahitian.php to help you get started!

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
332 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: I want to learn Tahitian

Ia Orana!

It might be too late or too much information for what you want, but just in case you come back from Tahiti and want to learn more (like me!), there are a couple of books you can get on Amazon France (not available on US sites). The lessons are French/Tahitian, so you need to have a knowledge of French to follow the lessons, otherwise you don't understand what you are learning.

- Parler Tahitien en 24 leçons, de P. Montillier

- Tahitien/Ia Ora Na: Méthode de langues, de Jacques Vernaudon