We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

4X4 Vehicle - Really Necessary?

Which Manuel Antonio National Park hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
663 posts
1 review
4X4 Vehicle - Really Necessary?

We are coming to the Quepos/Manuel Antonio area the first week in December. Our hostess has recommended that we rent a car with 4 wheel drive, saying that the road from the villa where we are staying (just south of Quepos) to the beach is steep and gravel.

I was brought up and learned to drive in New England, in the 40s and 50s, with some pretty tough winters, with plenty of snow. I'm a competent driver of station wagons to MotorHomes.

Am I really going to have a problem with a 2 wheel drive rental car if I don't go "off-road"?

Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 posts
3 reviews
1. Re: 4X4 Vehicle - Really Necessary?

Hi HankDfrmSD,

I grew up in New England too so I share your skills. Chances are if the villa warned you about the road they are on, it might be a problem (maybe not impossible but tough). I have had to back down a few steep gravel hills because my rental-car tires were really bald and wouldn't catch (even in the dry season). Other than that though, the main roads in and around MA and Quepos are nicely paved.

Hope that helps,

-Matt

San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
45,028 posts
30 reviews
2. Re: 4X4 Vehicle - Really Necessary?

Dear Hank..

I did grew up here in Costa Rica...and if a nice villa owner in Manuel Antonio, Quepos, Uvita, Dominical , etc...is recommending a 4x4 YOU NEED A 4x4...