We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Is my itinerary OK?

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
158 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
Is my itinerary OK?

Hello.

I am new to the Costa Rica forums but have been using tripadvisor forums for many years. I ma a huge Tripadvisor fan!!

My wife and I are planning a trip to Costa Rica for approx. 14 days. There are so many great places to see. It really looks like a beautiful country and we want to experience as much as possible without feeling rushed.

My tentative itinerary is fly in to San Jose, then 3 nights in La Fortuna, 4 nights in Manuel Antonio and 6 nights in Puerto Viejo. We are beach people and have been to Jamaica many times. That is one reason we would like to end the trip with the time at Puerto Viejo.

Do you think that is too much to do in one trip? In what order do you think we should go? We are not sure how to get from one destination to another. Should we rent a car or jeep? Is it expensive to do that? We have a lot of experience driving in third world countries and we both speak Spanish, my wife fluently.

Or should we take the bus to some destinations or hire a car to drive us and then maybe rent a car at each destination or rely on taxis?

Thanks for all your help and advice. We are very excited about our coming trip. We are planning either May or July. Which month do you think would be a better time to come and why?

Thanks, KMAN

Mentioned in this post
Costa Rica
Costa Rica
Central America
San Jose
San Jose
San Jose Metro, Costa Rica
Manuel Antonio
Manuel Antonio
Province of Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Province of Limon, Costa Rica
Jamaica
Jamaica
Caribbean
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2,505 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Is my itinerary OK?