We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Getting to the JW Marriott Guanacaste from Liberia

Which Santa Cruz hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
10 posts
7 reviews
Save Topic
Getting to the JW Marriott Guanacaste from Liberia

Just got to the JW yesterday and it is my first time in Costa Rica so I thought I'd post for those people that are also coming for the first time.

BTW, used the nonstop Delta flight from LAX. If you can handle redeyes then you'll love the flight because it is fast. We actually got in about 20 minutes early, something like 6:30am.

It took no time to get through Immigration. There were around 5 agents there to help the flight out. We were the only flight to arrive at that time however I saw a Continental and other Delta plane on the tarmac.

Ten steps from immigration is the baggage carousel. It's the noisiest thing ever. Then another ten steps and your past customs and out in front.

We rented from Avis. If you are in a rush then this is a bad choice as they don't open til 8. There were plenty of legit taxis (the red ones) and guys holding their taxi signs when you walk out. Dollar, Alamo, National were already there to pick up people. Avis ended up coming by around 7ish. Wasn't bad.

It took a long time to get the car at Avis! Be prepared before you get there. Find out if you credit card covers your CDW insurance before arriving. Get the GPS from Avis. Not needed yet but it works and gives you that sense of comfort if you are a first time traveller here (like us). BTW, It's a Garmin Nuvi. Avis rented us a diesel Mitsubishi medium-sized SUV that is an automatic, whereas the website said manual.