We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waht is The Best Way to Explore Shanghai?

mahaman
10 posts
Save Topic
Waht is The Best Way to Explore Shanghai?

Hi everybody,

I am trying to plan a trip to Shanghai this July, along with my wife and my 3 years old daughter.

I have no experience whatsoever with China. What worries me is the communication with the people there as most of them do not speak English.

After I Googled Shanghai, I ended up with three options, and I need to hear your opinions fellow travelers. The options are:

1. To book a ready-made tour package from a tour operator. the package includes a private car with an English speaking guide.

2. To hire an English speaking guide only.

3. To go there first, and then asses the situation and decide what to do.

So, any idea what would the best option be?

Thank you in advance.

Maman

Mentioned in this post
Shanghai
Shanghai
Shanghai Region, China
New York
Level Contributor
204 posts
43 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Waht is The Best Way to Explore Shanghai?

Mahaman - My husband and I, who do not speak any Chinese dialect, traveled through China for 23 days in April of this year. We used guides in Beijing, Xi'an, Yangshuo, and Hangzhou, but did not have a guide in Shanghai. In my opinion none is needed.

The city is easily toured on foot, by Metro and by taxi. Simply ask your hotel concierge or someone in the business office to write the Chinese characters for your destination to hand to the taxi driver or pinpoint your destinations on a map. Read a good guide book for ideas on what to see and do and then choose a neighborhood for each day's touring, grouping activities for easier transportation.