We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

8 Weeks in Mumbai for Volunteer Project

Vancouver, Canada
1 post
Save Topic
8 Weeks in Mumbai for Volunteer Project

Hi all,

I will be coming to Mumbai around May for eight weeks. I am a university student coming to Mumbai for a volunteer project. I have lots of questions and I do not even know where to begin.

First and foremost, I am a female and twenty years old. My question is, how safe is Mumbai for a 20 year old female, who will be coming alone for this volunteer project.

My other question is… now obviously because I am coming for eight weeks, staying at a hotel will be way too expensive. Is there any other form of accommodation available in India. I am open to the whole pay guest idea, but obviously I want to be safe where I reside. I will have my laptop, and personal belongings that I would want to ensure are safe when I leave for work, wherever I live.

Which part of Mumbai is probably the safest for me to live for eight weeks?

What are some local places where I could meet other tourists? How late is it to be safe outside? What kind of clothing should one wear in Mumbai, without attracting too much attention? Is it okay to walk around in dresses in the summer?

Upon arrival in Mumbai, where can I get a sim card for my iPhone 5. How much does it cost approximately. What are some reliable and good network companies.

Also I am looking for a place to live where I will have reliable means of WIFI

Any help would be great.

Thanks

Edited: 1:16 pm, January 08, 2014
Mumbai
Level Contributor
195 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: 8 Weeks in Mumbai for Volunteer Project