We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

crummy management, good staff

1 post
1 review
Save Topic
crummy management, good staff

I normally don’t write reviews unless I’m very happy with a place, but Gamboa Rainforest Resort (in Gamboa, outside of Panama City, Panama) has frustrated me to no end, and at this point it’s either write a review or punch a hole in a wall. I’m normally not a hot head. In fact, in negotiations it’s usually my wife who plays “bad cop”, after which time I come in as the nice voice of reason. Furthermore, I’m not just an uninitiated American in Central America. I’ve been doing research and business in Panama for over four years. I know that business there isn’t what we expect in the U.S. I know that a lot of it is uneven. I’ve even been harassed by corrupt cops and talked my way out of it. GRR, however, really tested my patience.

First of all, I should state that I had my wedding there. If you’re just planning to go to Gamboa for a weekend, you may not need to read this review. However, if you plan on staging an event there, think twice. Or at least do so with your eyes wide open and expecting to get ripped off at least once.

Also, I should say that my below comments are in reference only to management. The ironic thing is that the wait and room staff, even the desk staff, were incredibly professional and friendly. Even they though they spoke little or no English (except desk staff, which was pretty fluent), they did everything they could to figure out what we needed. As angry as we were with GRR management, we ended up double-tipping the rank-and-file staff for all of their help.