We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

internet service, electricity

South Carolina
2 posts
Save Topic
internet service, electricity

Hi everybody,

I want to take a vacation for a couple of weeks to the islands of Bocas del toro because I've heard so many good things about it. If I really enjoyed the area I was thinking about spending more time there (maybe 3 to 6 months). I make my living as daytrader, so this is the reason I ask this question. For the people that live there or have spent alot of time in Bocas, could you tell me how reliable are the internet service providers. I understand that sometimes the internet will occassionally go down even in the states, but is it a recurring problem (if there is a problem with internet service?) Also, are there alot of electric outages in Bocas? I was born and spent alot of my childhood in Santo Domingo, DR and we were lucky if we got 12 hours of electricity a day? Is it anything like that? I know Panama has a first world infrastructure by central american standards, but I would like to know about this because this is how I make my living. If it wasnt then I really wouldnt care.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Jon

Panama City, Panama
Destination Expert
for Panama
Level Contributor
1,967 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: internet service, electricity

There is a wireless provider in Bocas called Sistemas Inalambricos or SISA and there are a few cafes with internet now - the last time I was there I was in the coffee shop at Swan's Cay and working on my computer (quite a few months ago now so I am sure there are even more).

Electricity can be iffy but I haven't heard of it being out for long periods at a time - maybe a few hours at most.