We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Need advice for Tohoku travels

London
2 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Need advice for Tohoku travels

Hi,

I'm currently on holiday in Tokyo until this Friday (19th May) and then am off with my JR eastern rail pass around Tohoku for 10 days. Do any of you have any specific recommendations for places to visit, stay and eat. I'm 34 will be travelling alone and looking for preferably coastal towns, a strong connection to nature and an 'authentic' tohoku experience :)

Many Thanks

Stephen

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
1,474 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Need advice for Tohoku travels

I'm no expert on Japan, so I'm not sure what constitutes an 'authenic' Tohoku experience. However, last October I spent a week or so traveling around that area with no real itinerary--it was certainly a memorable part of my three weeks in Japan. You certainly won't see many foreign tourists!

I stayed at youth hostels, which were clean and pretty much empty. They generally cost about Y3000 (if you have a membership). If you call ahead, you can order dinner for around Y1000 (usually Japanese-style and tasty) and Y500 for breakfast (usually 'western'-style).

Some interesting places I saw:

- Urabandai - colourful ponds and a good hike up to the top of Bandai-san.

- Miyato-jima (on Matsushima Bay, east of Sendai)- supposedly one of the 3 best views in Japan. Traveling around the island and seeing the small fishing villages and rice paddies was probably more interesting.

- Hachimantai - marshes/lakes near the top of a volcano.