We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Phuket to Patong Beach

Which Patong hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Nelson, Nelson, New...
Level Contributor
3 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
Phuket to Patong Beach

Hi, How far is it to travel from the airport? Also is it a good idea to hire a scooter? (I am new to this part of the world for travel so have no idea so excuse me if I sound a little vague)..

My husband and I are wanting a nice relaxing (no children YAY) holiday in August this year (yes I have been told it is rainy season but hey its cheaper!) so I really want to see if I can sort it myself rather than getting an all inclusive deal from an agent we are from NZ very little competition here for travel agents.. So any suggestions would be greatly welcomed...

We are wanting a bit of fun, beach (not necessarily swimming) nice resort and a cultural difference.

Look forward to hearing from someone that might have first hand experience.

Shelby

Melbourne
Level Contributor
72 posts
1 review
Save Reply
1. Re: Phuket to Patong Beach

It's about 45 mins from the airport to Patong Beach via Taxi depending on traffic - sometimes it will be quicker sometimes it will be slower. Be very careful on a scooter - a very cheap and convenient way to get around but there are many accidents in Thailand involving scooters. Serious injuries and large costs can result. We've never hired one ourselves but there will be plenty of advice on the forums from people who have. Try searching on the phuket forum and I'm sure you will get some useful information.