We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First time with a few questions...

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
First time with a few questions...

Hello, my friend and I are travelling to Phuket and staying in Patong beach early march and as this is my first time I have a few questions..l

We have no booked accommodation as yet, but we are looking for a place close to everything and with free wifi and a great pool for $70-100 aud a night...any suggestions as the places I have found have really bad reviews :(

We want to go to a zoo where we can hold baby tigers and monkeys, anyone know any places?

What is the best way to travel with my money? I have been to Bali a few times and gottn ripped off at money exchange booths, is this also an issue in Thailand?

Also looking at doing Quadbike riding...

Any tips would be appreciated, my friend and I are both early 20's :)

Thankyou!

Chiang Klang...
Level Contributor
902 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: First time with a few questions...

Money issues:

tripadvisor.com/Travel-g293915-s601/Thailand…

Phuket Zoo is the pits, with appalling conditions. Monkeys can and do bite, they are not pets.

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
792 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: First time with a few questions...

The attendant at the tiger compound has only one arm, "Motorsai accident" LoL

Phuket, Thailand
Destination Expert
for Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon
Level Contributor
3,995 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: First time with a few questions...

Definitely give the zoo a miss. It is really depressing. :-(

Norfolk, United...
Destination Expert
for Chaweng, Ko Samui
Level Contributor
36,719 posts
352 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: First time with a few questions...

Give animals a BIG miss unless you are heartless.