We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Adirondack in May

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 posts
Save Topic
Adirondack in May

Hi

I'm planning my first hiking in adirondack now.

I will driving from Toronto to Mt Mercy in May 18-21 and wondering how about the weather then, still chilly or snow ground? Next issue is black files, many people mentioned, how serious will be. I have no idear and no experience with black flies before.

Because I will be ther myself, is it easy for me to find some other hikers?

New York City, New...
Level Contributor
616 posts
1,027 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Adirondack in May

I do hope that your last sentence means you won't try to go hiking in the High Peaks alone, RIGHT?

That said, noodle around in the hiking sections of the Adirondack Mountain Club and that of Paul Smiths. Maybe you can join a scheduled hike.

www.adk.org/explore_park/Chapter_Outings.aspx

http://www.adirondackvic.org/AboutVIC.html

As to Black flies and snow- I lost my crystal ball, but you could easily encounter one or the other or both- although the snow would be at the higher altitudes and the black flies more likely in the lower ones.

Take care.

Adirondack, New York
Level Contributor
3,971 posts
90 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Adirondack in May