We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Snorkelling off the beach in Manado

Eindhoven, The...
Level Contributor
1,297 posts
221 reviews
Save Topic
Snorkelling off the beach in Manado

Hi all,

This is my first time on the Sulawesi forum, I'm mostly on the Bali-forum.

We went to Sulawesi in May 1998 (went from Manado to Makassar by car in 9 days) and did first some snorkelling in front of the Tasik Ria resort.

For me this was really the best snorkelling ever. Afterwards we snorkelled around Bali on many places, but the different fishes I saw at Sulawesi was really great. And we liked also so much, that we could just walk into the sea, very calm and not difficult to walk, not deep or with waves...

Now I am thinking of going back to Manado, Bunaken and its surroundings, and do it all calmer, stay longer in every place, as the first time we were in the car for most of the time.

Found top places likes Lumba Lumba diving, but I wonder whether we always have to do rather expensive boat trips to snorkle from there. Of course we want to do a boat trip, but we also like to be able to snorkle right off the beach, like at Tasik Ria.

In reviews about Tasik Ria, I read now there is no beach there, and there are a lot of boats on the shore, so probably a lot has been changed....

We don't need a beach with sunbeds etc., but just a place where you can walk in the sea and snorkle from there.

So I am doubting now between Lumba Lumba and Tasik Ria.

In one of these places we want to stay around a week and do also daytrips from there to Tomohon and the national park.

Afterwards we like to go some days to Bunaken Village, would this be a wise combination?

All info most welcome!