We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Safe to travel?

Which Dili hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Liverpool, United...
2 posts
Save Topic
Safe to travel?

Hello!

I am a medical student planning to work in a clinic in Dili for 4 weeks during july this year.

I am going with 4 other girls and we were getting worried about the safety. Speaking to people recently, they have said that there are frequently riots and the area is politically unstable.

I was wondering if anyone could tell me if this is true? We haven't booked flights yet and can change to somewhere else if it could be a problem.

Thanks

Brisbane, Australia
1 post
Save Reply
1. Re: Safe to travel?

Hi, I deployed there in 2006 so my advice is limited to general advice.

I would say go but it is a 3rd world country so be smart about things.

Given that the UN and ISF troops are now pulling out the place is generally pretty calm and likely to remain so for the time being.

I would identify 3 things to watch out for.

1. The Eastern and Western Timorese have long-term feuds dating back to who did what during the Indonesian occupation. Much effort has gone into calming everything down but stay away from rallys.

2. Dili has many martial arts gangs that fight each other. This is probably much less now than back then but again, don't be a spectator. You dont want to get hit by a stray arrow.

3. Petty crime. There is high unemployment so crime naturally exists.

The locals like to drink, and chew beatlenut, which can exacerbate things during the afternoon/night.

The biggest possible change will be as the last of the UN/ISF leave the local economy may take a hit. This may make things cheaper but also increase unemployment.