We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New in Ukraine

Donetsk, Ukraine
6 posts
Save Topic
New in Ukraine

Hi Everyone,

I am new in Ukraine and this forum. These informations are exactly perfect and useful. Thank you all. Because since I arrived Kharkov (3 days) I haven't seen an Ukrainian who knows English :( but some restaurants and shopping centers. And there is no English explanation in Zoos, Museums, Menus in restaurants.. etc :( I am here for interview with some universities and vacation also. Today i planned to go to Gorky Park in the evening. Things to do in Kharkiv link is really helpful. I have 2 weeks more in Ukraine. I want to see Kiev, Lviv, Odessa too. Hope I could meet some Ukrainian who knows English and have some friends :) See you..

Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
119 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: New in Ukraine

Hi Mustafa,

Nice to meet you :) Even though your experience with Ukraine is not that positive, I hope to give you some useful recommendations:

1. Use Internet to reach any interesting sight in Kharkov - now they can all be found in Google and Google Maps

2. Find English-speaking clubs in Kharkov to meet English-speaking locals. I don't know of any there, because I have never stayed in that city for a long time, but I am sure they do exist. Just search for them in Google.

3. Try to pick up and use some Russian words like Thank you (Spasibo) or Help me to find ... (Pomogite naiti...) etc.

As for your further stay, I can advise you some nice sights to see in Kiev, depending on your interests. Here we have many historical places, eating-out places and parks - do you already know, how many days you would like to spend in Kiev?

Best regards,

Yuriy

Donetsk, Ukraine
6 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: New in Ukraine

Hello Yuriy,