We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Traveling to Patagonia in May?

Baltimore, Maryland
1 post
Save Topic
Traveling to Patagonia in May?

Hi all!

I am a student studying in Argentina for the semester. I have a week vacation at the end of May and I wanted to travel to Ushuaia and El Calafate. Does anyone know if this is possible? I am looking on the cities' websites and I keep finding conflicting information. I was hoping to go to Ushuaia for 3 days, take a bus to El Calafate, and then flying back to Bs. As. out of El Calafate. If anyone knows what sites are open/closed, or if it is worth it to go, please let me know!

Muchas gracias!

Jamie

Kokkola, Finland
Level Contributor
9 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Traveling to Patagonia in May?

I had a week vacation and I went all the way from Cordoba down to Ushuaia and through Calafate in one week and the two weekends I had. And I hitchhiked! So, basically it was most of the time on the road, and would not have been possible for a guy with that small time as I heard takes so much more time for them ;) I did this cos I had a week vacation also and there were absolutely no more time and well, I came all the way from Europe so why not.

If u have no money issues and are able to use night busses, use only night busses and stop during the days. Consider flying to Ushuaia and fly back from Calafate as I'm sure it'll be the same price more or less and u'll save so much time!