We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Electronic shopping in Japan, worth it?

Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
32 posts
32 reviews
Save Topic
Electronic shopping in Japan, worth it?

I'm a tech junkie and excited to go to Japan and drop by Akihabara. Before I go crazy and start spending my saving, do you guys think it's worth it to purchase electronics in Japan? Will it be cheaper or more expensive? Items to buy such as camera (sony, canon, nikon), phones or any computer accessories.

Thanks!

Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
23,854 posts
120 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Electronic shopping in Japan, worth it?

Yes, you can buy electronics relatively cheaper at small independent stores (rather than at Yodobashi or BiC camera) in Akihabara in Tokyo or Nipponbashi in Osaka and if you are good at bargaining. In any case, it is fun to know what's new and in vogue in the world of electronics. You can find out the cheapest price available at a review site "価格.com" (kakaku.com).

Use google translate/map to figure out where the shops are located.

http://kakaku.com/

Edited: 12:28 am, December 12, 2011
Kyoto, Japan
Destination Expert
for Kobe, Kyoto
Level Contributor
4,879 posts
161 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Electronic shopping in Japan, worth it?

It depends on where you are coming from. My Canon L lens that was made in Japan was about 500 U.S. dollars less than if I bought it here in Japan. My Canon camera was also cheaper in the USA. It wasn't as much of a savings when the Japanese Yen was weaker. If products in your home country are crazy-expensive then maybe you can find deals here. Buying the cameras that are from last year or several months ago will be much cheaper than the newest models so if you go that route then you can save money.

Amstelveen, The...
Level Contributor
300 posts
13 reviews