We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hong Kong Prepaid 3G Mobile Internet SIM

Prague, Czech...
Level Contributor
16 posts
Save Topic
Hong Kong Prepaid 3G Mobile Internet SIM

First of all hi guys and sorry for the bad english which is about to come but im still learning (:

I have a question. In November ill be going to Hong Kong for 13 days. So im intending to buy a prepaid sim so I can call and internet cheap locally on my HTC Desire HD. 2 years ago ive been in Hong Kong and ive bought a prepaid Peoples card with unlimited EDGE data. It was decent in the cities but not fast enough.

Ive been looking over the internet and I found out that there are actually only two providers who sell prepaid 3G SIMS . Three Mobile and CSL.

- CSL costs like $78 dollar for 7 days, which means for my stay ill pay $ 156. It has a FUP, but on the CSL site I cant see how much data I can use. Is it unlimited or not? I cant find that out on the website.

- ''Three'' Costs like $298 a month. But since I only stay for like 2 weeks this will come out way more expensive, but it does have unlimited data. And since I will use tethering with my Desire on my laptop I dont know how much data I will consume.

And who will have the better coverage? Ill be mostly in the cities but in the evening when I want to internet on my laptop I'll be in Yuen Long (new territories) . Two years ago my peoples SIM lost connection pretty much every time i tried to connect with the internet.

Hope someone can help me out with this. I cant live without internet for 2 weeks :p.

Prague, Czech...
Level Contributor
16 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Hong Kong Prepaid 3G Mobile Internet SIM

Ive been searching on this site and one person mentioned this one

…hkcsl.com/jsp/…charges.jsp

Which costs 50HKD a day

…hkcsl.com/jsp/…overview.jsp