We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Planning

Which Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
22 posts
45 reviews
Save Topic
Planning

Hello:

We are a family of four and plan to visit Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater, Masai Mara.( and/or any other place which should be seen!) Our dates have been finalized. We reach Nairobi on the 28th July and depart from Nairobi on the 6th August, 2013. What would be the ideal itinerary to visit Tanzania and Kenya wildlife? Our budget would be about US$2500 per person, not counting airfare. We are vegetarians and would appreciate hotels/lodges where vegetarian/indian food is available. Photography is a must do. While I am not a professional photographer, I like to think of myself as a committed amateur. ( I haul about 15 kgs of equipment!) We enjoy varied company and look upon such trips as a means to bond together as a family and also meet other like minded people.

Would appreciate some advice on planning for this trip. Thank you.

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
1,479 posts
136 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Planning

Hi Murli,

Not sure whether this is your first safari. If so, I have detailed a few points that may be of interest. I learnt a lot from the Kenya TA forum. So I hope my experience will help you and others.

I have touched on several points including: Yellow Fever, General medication, Food, Indian food, What we packed, What we did not use and so on. We covered four Parks (one of which, Lake Naivasha, was an on-the-way visit). We stayed at Ol Pejeta conservancy, Nakuru and of course the Mara.

We saw Veg food everywhere, include 'Indian' options. No worry about that. Many Kenyan Veg options were available, as well, and fruits and salads.