We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

nile cruise photo equipment, and what currency

penzance
Level Contributor
32 posts
Save Topic
nile cruise photo equipment, and what currency

hi

the wife and i are going with first choice on a nile cruise on nov 3rd,i am a keen photographer and i want to take most of my equipment ,about 7 kgs in weight including the bag.will i have a problem with this as hand luggage on the plane ,also if i take strirling such as pound coins and fivers can i use these for tipping and purchases at some of the markets,as i know eygptian money is not the cleanest and i dont realy want to carry it.

thanks for any advice.

ps did a nile cruise about 10 yrs ago but used eygptian then

Luxor/UK
Level Contributor
1,581 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: nile cruise photo equipment, and what currency

Some airlines are very strict about luggage allowances, including hand luggage, so suggest that you try to make proir arrangements with them just in case.

I would suggest 1 US dollar bills for tips if you really don't want to handle the local money. It is usually only the smaller notes upto 20LE [Egyptian pounds] that are really dirty. Using anti bacterail handwash regular should ensure you are ok though. Local people cannot exchange pound coins sterling in the banks, only paper money.

The markets will accept sterling for purchases but I would think only notes not coins.

Exchange rate has dropped here but probably still better than the rate in the UK. Yesterday it was 9.3 LE to 1 pound sterling.

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
590 posts
46 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: nile cruise photo equipment, and what currency