We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Souks in Aswan

Which Aswan hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Level Contributor
128 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Souks in Aswan

Would anyone kindly advise the business hours of souks in Aswan? How early does it start, and how late does it operate until? Where are the popular souks (souvenirs, as well interesting ones - we do not mind going off the beaten path) located? Would be most grateful for any kind advices. Thank you very much and good day to everyone!

london
Destination Expert
for Nile River Valley
Level Contributor
12,012 posts
225 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Souks in Aswan

AFAIK there is only one souk in Aswan and it runs quite a long way along along the same road a couple of blocks off the Corniche, easy to find from there. I'm not good at directions I'm afraid. Ask at your hotel, not in the street if you have to or you will get a guide you dont want. I don't know how early it starts but it is probably most active from early evening until maybe midnight.

Australia
Destination Expert
for Cairo, Egypt, Nile River Valley, Luxor
Level Contributor
8,002 posts
57 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Souks in Aswan

Like Verity, I only know of one souk in Aswan. Not sure of the exact opening times but I have been there mid morning & also late at night, the atmosphere imo is better at night.

I am not sure how busy it is at the moment, someone who has been recently will let you know but I was there was Nov 2011 and it was very quiet compared to previous visits.