We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Excursions to the pyramids from Sharm El Sheik???

Weymouth, United...
1 post
1 review
Save Topic
Excursions to the pyramids from Sharm El Sheik???

I am going to Sharm El Sheik 25th March for a week. It's my first time in Egypt and I naturally have to go to visit the pyramids! However I will be going with my boyfriend but he is now somewhat worried about the riots and unrest going on and is now saying that he does not want to take the risk to go to see them. I am also worried about the situation in Egypt at the moment but for me it is pointless to go to Egypt without visiting the pyramids. Has anybody been recently? Should it be safe? Can anybody give me information on possible excursions from Sharm El Sheik, which are the best ones, ones that should be safe? If I manage to persuade my boyfriend to go, should I book now in advance or wait until I'm there? Any idea on prices? Thanks

Ulaanbaatar...
Destination Expert
for Cairo
Level Contributor
2,254 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Excursions to the pyramids from Sharm El Sheik???

There is no danger for tourists visiting the Pyramids. The trouble spots in Cairo are Tahrir Squaire, the area immediately around it, and the Presidential Palace. The Giza Plateu is quite removed from both of those places. Cairo is a huge city and even while there is fighting in one part, life continues normally elsewhere.