We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beirut in June as a photographer?

Nomad
Level Contributor
35 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Beirut in June as a photographer?

Hi everyone,

I've been getting pretty excited about a trip to Beirut in late June but it's been brought to my attention that photography may not be well received in the current climate. Any truth to this?

I'm a street photographer which means that I like walking around the city and taking candid photos of everyday life. Am I likely to run into problems? Are there specific things or areas that I should avoid photographing?

Any feedback or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Dubai, United Arab...
Level Contributor
6 posts
19 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Beirut in June as a photographer?

Hi Lewcid,

It depends on the regions. In general, you should not have any problem, unless it is a sensitive region, like the southern suburb of Beirut, or Tripoli nowadays. In such areas, it is recommended to ask before shooting. Otherwise, in Beirut town center, and other areas, you can take as much pictures as you want.

Lebanon
Destination Expert
for Lebanon
Level Contributor
2,644 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Beirut in June as a photographer?

It is not allowed to take photos of military personnel or military vehicles unless requested in advance. It is not allowed also to take photos of the naval base located just near Beirut Port.

On the other hand it is allowed to take pictures at the Mleeta Resistance Tourism Landmark of any type of used or captured arms in the war in south Lebanon. www.mleeta.com