We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tips on souvenir shopping and haggling

Spokane, Washington
2 posts
Save Topic
Tips on souvenir shopping and haggling

I'm new to Trip Advisor, so I'm starting here on the forum for some help/guidelines etc....

My father and I are going on big trip to the middle east in a few weeks with a tour company from the states. I have never done a big tour company group where everything is planned and all together.

I want to make sure I can get souvenirs (super touristy but oh well) like a simple Olive Wood nativity (looking for something around $75 or under... nothing ornate), Christmas ornaments, possibly some casual jewelry, things like that. But also get some things that are unique to Israel. We'll be visiting Bethlehem, Galilee, Nazareth, etc.

Does anyone have tips about shopping for such items WHILE in a tour group? We only have a half day for our own exploration to shop in the old city.

Also, I'm not afraid to haggle, just afraid of offending. I don't want to get ripped off but also want to agree on a reasonable price that they'd make a profit. Any tips on HOW TO HAGGLE?

Mentioned in this post
Israel
Israel
Middle East
florida
Level Contributor
6 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
21. Re: Tips on souvenir shopping and haggling

seemed as whenever we deoarted our bus near our destination , there were men selling souvenir items for a few dollars and also bottles of water .Items were colorful :purses, scarves.

enjoy your trip

florida
Level Contributor
6 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
22. Re: Tips on souvenir shopping and haggling

Our pastor suggested we take small bills in US currency. found that hotel front desk was only site that accepted Israel currency.

Mentioned in this post
Israel
Israel
Middle East
Ottawa, Canada
Destination Expert