We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

travel from Jordan Dead Sea to Kinneret,then around kinneret

Queens, New York
8 posts
Save Topic
travel from Jordan Dead Sea to Kinneret,then around kinneret

hi..It's my first time going to israel and My girlfriend and I are really excited. We have a planned route for our 2 week stay but have some focused logistical questions. Where can I rent a car in the Dead Sea area (Israel)? Is it possible to rent a car in the dead sea area in Jordan and continue with the car into Israel?? Can i return the car in another city, say Haifa or Tel Aviv? I hear a car is essential to travel around the North of Israel, is this true? We plan to stay two days in Kinneret (Arbel Village Tiberias) and then one day in Caesarea. How far will the travel be from Arbel to Caesarea? Lastly any favorite hiking for the Kinneret area?

I am grateful for you reading my questions and await response. Very excited for this trip to a special place.

Brian

Israel
Destination Expert
for Israel
Level Contributor
17,533 posts
87 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: travel from Jordan Dead Sea to Kinneret,then around kinneret

Welcome - you will have a super, terrific time here.

There are no car rental agencies in the Dead Sea area - where will you be coming from? That way we can tell you the best place to pick up a car.

No - you cannot take a rental car across the border.

Yes, you can rent in one city and drop off in another. There are no drop charges unless Eilat is part of the mix.

Yes, you will really appreciate having a car in the north - public transportation there is not always convenient, doesn't get everywhere you want to go and service can be infrequent.

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
435 posts
52 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: travel from Jordan Dead Sea to Kinneret,then around kinneret