We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Self-drive car rental in Sri Lanka

Norwich, UK
9 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Self-drive car rental in Sri Lanka

I'd really appreciate any recommendations on self drive rental companies in Sri Lanka. Casons Rent-a-car seem to have a good range; I was going to enquire about a 4x4.

Any helpful recommendations or experiences would be welcome. We don't have a tight budget.

I've read lots of "do not self drive in Sri Lanka" posts, so am aware of the dangers, but I am a very experienced driver and feel safer driving myself.

Look forward to your replies.

Thanks,

Dan

Edited: 5:19 pm, January 12, 2011
272 replies to this topic
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
185 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Self-drive car rental in Sri Lanka

I suggest that you use local drivers for a day or two to acclimatise and to find your way around where you are staying. Meanwhile go and see the car hire films that you have already found plus any that are suggested locally. You will get a chance to see the standard of repair of the cars.

You will probably get a better deal locally if you are willing to to haggle ( point out that they pay commission to online agents and you are paying up front in person )

Outside of the main destinations and routes such as Colombo- Negombo - Kandy - Galle etc. Its a bit less chaotic on the roads.

My main reasons for not driving myself are that you can't enjoy the views and the spectacle when concentrating on not getting your vehicle damaged. A car with a local driver is so cheap that self drive is pointless - In my opinion.

Enjoy your trip and please report back - I don't see many reports here from those who have self driven.

Ian

Edited: 8:47 pm, January 12, 2011
london
Level Contributor
216 posts
1 review
Save Reply